June 15

If You’re Not From Vermont . . .

If You’re Not From Vermont . . .

(a form change poem with thanks to David Bouchard, If You’re Not From the Prairie . . .)

 

If you’re not from Vermont,

You don’t know rocks.

You can’t know rocks.

Rocks, yes, rocks!

Shiny and dull, all of them count.

We love them all.

If you’re not from Vermont,

You just don’t know rocks.

 

If you’re not from Vermont,

You don’t know the swinging.

The breeze gets in your hair,

And the rocking could put a baby to sleep.

 

If you’re not from Vermont,

You don’t know me,

You just can’t know ME.

You see, my feet are the paddles in the clear water,

My heart gets tickled by the growing grass,

My hands are a frog net.

I’ve been here.

I’ve nested here.

My home is Vermont,

And I will stay here.


Posted June 15, 2016 by Cherie Blessing in category Uncategorized

About the Author

My name is Miss Blessing, and I would like to welcome you to our class blog! Teaching is the calling of my heart, and I hope to set an example of tenacious engagement in learning this year. Let the Great Adventure begin!

1 thoughts on “If You’re Not From Vermont . . .

  1. Cherie Blessing (Post author)

    “My hands are a frog net” is my favorite line because it reminds me of growing up in New Hampshire and makes me smile. I also love, “I’ve nested here.” What a lovely poem!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*